Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Greenville's Katie Wolfram chosen for SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship

Greenville's Katie Wolfram chosen for SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship

The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced that senior women's basketball player Katie Wolfram is the female SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship award recipient for the 2019-20 season. She becomes just the second from Greenville to receive the award. Greenville's previous awardee was Joni Dorf, one of the conference's first two recipients in 2002-03.  Greg Sovie of Principia received the 2019-20 male honor.

Established in 2002, the SLIAC Post-Graduate Scholarship is awarded each spring to one male and one female graduating student-athlete from a conference member school.

Wolfram was a four-year member of the Greenville University women's basketball team and carries a 3.9 grade-point average while majoring in Exercise Science and Pre-Physical Therapy. After suffering through three knee injuries in her collegiate career, she found her passion - physical therapy.

Wolfram is a certified Special Olympics coach and has volunteered with FAYCO Enterprises where she taught physical activities to workers with special needs, SCORE International where she went on a mission trip to Costa Rica, and at the Greenville Federal Correctional Institution. Wolfram has been already been accepted and admitted into the Doctor of Physical Therapy program at Washington University in St. Louis.

Wolfram was nominated by Jane Bell, Greenville University's Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR). Award nominees are required to have earned two varsity letters in a sport in which the conference sponsors a championship and have at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA (on a 4.0 scale). Scholarship recipients are selected through a vote of the Conference FARs and receive a $1000 scholarship to use during their first two years of postgraduate studies.


Year Female Male
2002-03 Joni Dorf, Greenville Kevin Bartow, Maryville
2003-04 Maureen Walterbach, Maryville Brady Barke, Webster
2004-05 Christine Basden, Maryville Stephen Hoell, Westminster
2005-06 Maria Eftink, Fontbonne Greg Murphy, Webster
2006-07 Vanda Wilder, Maryville Ryan Duncan, Maryville
2007-08 Michelle Reale, Fontbonne Tyler Tate, Maryville
2008-09 Rachael Richards, Principia Jason Warncke, Westminster
2009-10 Laura Watt, Blackburn Shanna Crafts, Westminster
2010-11 Kelli Ruppel, MacMurray Aaron Phelan, Eureka
2011-12 Rachel Backes, Westminster William Boxdorfer, Fontbonne
2012-13 Casey Powell, Principia Ethan Kristek, Fontbonne
2013-14 Leigh Ann Lutz, Westminster Derek Crouch, MacMurray
2014-15 Jenny Howard, Webster Matt Dillard, Eureka
2015-16 Kasey Gatson, Westminster Jared Jones, Blackburn
2016-17 Andrea Zalis, Westminster Glenn Teubner, Westminster
2017-18 Darby Massner, Iowa Wesleyan Shane Witters Hicks, Principia
2018-19 Heidi Gundy, Westminster Matt Tossick, Fontbonne
2019-20 Katie Wolfram, Greenville Greg Sovie, Principia