Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's cross country extends conference record with 15th SLIAC title

Courtesy of Brian Lovellette/SLIAC
Courtesy of Brian Lovellette/SLIAC

LITCHFIELD, Ill. - The men's cross country team dominated the SLIAC championships on Saturday, recording a score of 24 which was over two times better than Webster's 57.

Greenville's 33-point margin of victory was the largest since their conference championship in 2000.

Dylan Goodyear collected the SLIAC runner of the year award after an eight kilometer time of 26:55 which won the title by 43 seconds.  He was Greenville's first SLIAC men's champion since Rodney Oyler in 2008.

John Mangold was second across the line for Greenville, earning third with a time of 27:00.

Greenville recorded the fifth and sixth place marks in the race with Collin Kessinger clocking a 27:20 and Dylon Niswonger right behind at 27:21.

Garrett Johnson completed GU's team score by finishing ninth in 27:35.

Upon completion of the race, the SLIAC announced Goodyear, Mangold, Kessinger, and Niswonger as members of the SLIAC first team. Johnson and Lukas Baird received second team honors.  Brian Patton was SLIAC coach of the year for the 11th time in his distinguished career.  Niswonger was the Greenville entry on the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship team.

Greenville's team title was its 15th in school history, easily tops in the conference.  Patton has served as head coach for all 15 championship seasons.

After the Panther Trials on Friday, Nov. 2, the Panthers will compete in the NCAA Midwest Regional on Saturday, Nov. 10.