Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Panthers and Coach Brian Patton selected to SLIAC men's cross country all-decade team

Four Panthers and Coach Brian Patton selected to SLIAC men's  cross country all-decade team

The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced its men's cross country All-Decade team from 2010-19. Greenville's Dylan Goodyear, Collin Kessinger, John Mangold, and Bryant Simpson were named to the squad. Brian Patton was honored as coach of the decade. Selections were made using a system that awarded points based on All-Conference selections. In addition, any player receiving the Runner of the Year award during a season earned a selection. Coaches were picked based on Coach of the Year awards won during the time span.

SLIAC Men's Cross Country All-Decade Team (2010-19)

Coach Brian Patton, Greenville University
Patton and the Panthers won five SLIAC Championships in the last ten years including closing out the decade with four straight. He was named the SLIAC Coach of the Year five times during the decade. 

Abram Deng, Spalding University
Just three years after joining the conference Abram Deng became the first Golden Eagle to win a cross country championship, taking back-to-back titles in 2011 and 2012. He was a three-time All-Conference runner during his career. 

Jesse Edwards, Westminster College
Edwards earned All-Conference honors three times during his Blue Jay career. 

Derrick Fleming, Principia College
Fleming was a four-time First Team All-Conference performer during his Panther career.

Dylan Goodyear, Greenville University
Goodyear closed out the decade with two straight SLIAC titles and finished his Panther career as a four-time All-Conference runner. 

Haile Jemane, Spalding University
Jemane was part of the Golden Eagles' first SLIAC Cross Country Team Championship in 2012. He was a four time All-Conference runner, earning First Team honors twice.

Collin Kessinger, Greenville University
Kessinger was named All-Conference three times in his career including twice as a First Team member. 

Wylie Mangelsdorf, Principia College
Mangelsdorf is arguably one of the greatest runners in conference history. He was the 2013 SLIAC Runner of the Year, winning the individual championship that season, and was named All-Conference First Team all four years. Mangelsdorf qualified for nationals three times, placing 5th in 2013; the highest finish ever by a SLIAC runner.

John Mangold, Greenville University
A three-time First Team All-Conference runner, he was selected as the SLIAC Runner of the Year in 2018. 

Nathan Mark, Spalding University
Mark was named All-Conference three times during his career, earning First Team honors twice. 

Zach Matthiesen, Principia College
Matthiesen earned All-Conference honors all four years, three times as a First Team member. He was a two-time individual champion and was the SLIAC Runner of the Year in 2016.

Abe Ott, Principia College
Was named All-Conference three times including twice as a First Team selection.

Brandon Price, Spalding University
Member of the 2015 SLIAC Championship team when he also captured the SLIAC individual title and was named the Runner of the Year. Earned All-Conference four times, three as a First Team selection.

Nate Richards, Principia College
Three time First Team All-Conference choice was named the SLIAC Runner of the Year in 2014 when he won the SLIAC individual championship.

Bryant Simpson, Greenville University
Named All-Conference three times during his career with two First Team All-Conference selections. 

Shane Witters-Hicks, Principia College
A four time All-Conference pick he earned First Team honors twice during his career. Was the SLIAC Runner of the Year in 2017.