Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's track and field earns SLIAC championship

Men's track and field earns SLIAC championship

GREENVILLE, Ill. - The men's track and field team was the winner of the SLIAC conference championships at the John M. Strahl Athletic Complex on Friday and Saturday.

The Panthers obtained 12 gold medals in the meet, and the team gathered 267 points, outperforming runner-up Webster by 76 points.

David Martin and Dylan Goodyear each provided Greenville with two gold medals. Martin won the pole vault with a clearance of 13 feet-7.25 inches, and he took the 110 meter hurdles in 15.92 seconds. Dylan Goodyear captured the 5000 meter run in 15:54, and he crossed the finish line first in the 3000 meter steeplechase in 10:04.

Jumpers Rakim Murphy and Erick Garcia were winners in their events. Murphy defeated the competition in the long jump with a distance of 22-7, and Garcia was the leader in the triple jump at 44-6.25. Murphy also was a member of the winning 4x100 meter relay team with Alex Fink, Jeremiah Davis, and Di'Mond Salmond. The group completed the 400 meters in 42.25 seconds.

Greenville ended with the top distances in three of the throwing competitions. Nate Brown led in the discus with a mark of 152-1. Chris Crawford gained the hammer victory as he reached 177-10. Mitchell Hooten took the shot put with a distance of 49-11.

Two distance runners rounded out Greenville's group of winners. Dylon Niswonger completed the 10,000 meter run in 33:15, and John Mangold took the 1500 meter run in 4:04.

After the meet, the SLIAC coaches voted head coach Brian Patton and his staff as the coaching staff of the year. Hooten was given the field athlete of the year honor, Brown was the field newcomer of the year, and Murphy was the track newcomer of the year. Damian Cantrell was selected as Greenville's entry on the all-sportsmanship team.

The Panthers will continue their season with a meet at SIU Edwardsville on Friday.